Burkina Faso

Continent Map Flag


Population Land Area Water Area Government President Prime Minister Monarch






Mossi are a people in central Burkina Faso, living mostly in the villages of the Volta River Basin. The Mossi are the largest ethnic group in Burkina Faso, constituting 40% of the population, or about 6.2 million people now have their homeland in present day Burkina Faso.

Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso, also known by its short-form name Burkina, is a landlocked nation in West Africa. It is surrounded by six countries: Mali to the north, Niger to the east, Benin to the south east, Togo and Ghana to the south, and Cote d'Ivoire to the south west.

Page created April 7, 2010. Anne Pemberton. Updated: Sun, May 27, 2012. AP.